Promise made

Last night was the Winter Solstice/Lunar Eclipse. I thought about staying up but didn’t. I was going to do a ritual for the occasion, you have to figure it would be a great time for some kind of work to be done.

Bout 2230 (10:30 pm) or so I let the dog out for a quick leak. The sky was cloudy and the moon was almost straight overhead. I decided to do just something right then, nothing planned. That is usually what happens, I make plans to have a big to-do about something, then just end up standing outside let it fly.

A quick turn to the Bears/Vikings game to check the score reminded me that today was going to be the first day of Winter. So I went from that and ended up making a promise to dig deeper into how I feel about the people in my life, my views on my religion and how I see myself. With only Mani to witness it, I swore to do this before the next full moon, January 19.

I got the feeling at the end that the vow was accepted so now I have to keep to it. I made a decision to talk to a person who I have a difference of viewpoint with, instead of just thinking of dreadful things to be done to them. For me, that is very much progress.

Published in: on 21/12/2010 at 21:53  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vmskald.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/promise-made/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

